Deleting a baseline

Is there any issues with deleting a baseline - should I do it or not?

A baseline set was created and applied across a number of modules within a project. Now they want to get rid of the baseline as apparently it was wrongly applied.

Is there any danger or risk in deleting the baseline? What is the possible impact or shoudl I hust leave it there?

Also how do I do it? Do I just delete the baselien set or do I have to do somethign to delete every instance first

Doors 9.2

Thanks in advance for advice
SystemAdmin - Wed Sep 01 20:24:17 EDT 2010

Re: Deleting a baseline
llandale - Wed Sep 08 17:30:12 EDT 2010

History is stored in the Baseline, and if you delete it you lose the History. Too bad they have no 'merge Baseline' command to assist folks who make several 'final' baselines in a row with simple tweaks in each one. I guess if you could 'merge' a baseline there should be some mechanism for 'locking' a baseline, dis-allowing changes except by the Administrator.

  • Louie

Re: Deleting a baseline
kabr - Fri Oct 08 09:02:00 EDT 2010

Well, I see no point in deleting a baseline anyway.
The modifications and change bar colors still remain the same. The baseline still shows in the list in the view baselines dialog, only that you no longer can view or access it.
The only benefit you get is, when you delete the latest baseline, its number can be used again.
But that's all.

my 2 cts

Karl